Sponsored by: Moser

Preparing for winter...

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 08:06 PM
Liam_Harrow
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Preparing for winter...

With winter approaching, I want to get my truck ready for the extreme amounts of road salt they spread around here in New England. I have already had wheel well liners and rear mudflaps installed(already had them up front), now I have one question. Which is the better method for keeping the frame and rest of the suspension as rust free as possible? Fluid film undercoating or washing the frame very frequently during the salty months. Perhaps both? What do you guys think?

Old 10-07-2015, 01:32 AM
karlduke
Senior User
You can do both but I suggest that you put enough Fluid Film and not to blast the frame when rinsing so that fluid film will last a while.

Old 10-07-2015, 05:20 AM
tseekins
Super Moderator
Received 1,220 Likes on 803 Posts
I swear if I ever move back to Maine as a full time resident, I'll put my nice vehicle up for the winter and drive a beater with a heater.

Old 10-07-2015, 08:23 AM
Turbo Dog
Cargo Master
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
A beater with a heater is the best way to keep rust off your frame. Back when I lived in an area that salted the roads (not in WYO) I was working on fancy foreign cars and they would spray the underside with automatic transmission fluid several times each winter.

Old 10-07-2015, 04:37 PM
Liam_Harrow
Senior User
Thanks for the quick replies. I don't have a winter beater right now or a lot of ATF so I think I'm gonna go with fluid film. Are there any places in particular that are very important to spray or any places that you want to avoid spraying? Thanks again

Last edited by Liam_Harrow; 10-07-2015 at 05:57 PM. Reason: Punctuation
Old 10-07-2015, 06:56 PM
brokenleg
Fleet Mechanic
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Originally Posted by tseekins