6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Looking at buying a 2006 350 6.0

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2015, 05:18 PM
JR56F-100
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I am new to this sight, and so far have gotten a lot of good information from it. My Quick question is, I have an opportunity to buy a 2006 350 4 door long box 4X4 with a 6.0 engine and 200,000 miles. He is a friend of mine and wants to move on from this truck. Currently it has an injector problem, (diesel getting into the oil) I haven't gotten all the specifics on the other maintenance he has done to this truck yet but I do believe he has had the head gaskets replaced by the Ford dealer. The body is nice and has new tires. He is offering it to me for $5000 and I know that I could put another 4K - $6000 into it. He is letting me bring it to a shop to check it out. Should I walk away or do you guys think I should take the chance.

Old 05-25-2015, 11:25 PM
IHateCommieCars
Logistics Pro
Received 502 Likes on 359 Posts
I'd say you're paying a bit too much for the simple fact that you're being asked to assume all risks with what could be wrong with it. Even if it ran bad, that's still a standard upon which you can estimate a value. Trying to assign a value when it does nothing is tough. A car that doesn't start loses a lot of its value.

You also don't say what trim package it is. An XL is worth considerably less than a Lariat or King Ranch.

Being a 10-year old truck, it doesn't take too much being wrong to make it not worth fixing.Well, you don't say what trim package it has. If it's an XL,

Potentially, it could