Notices
1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Running rough after a mod

Old 12-18-2014, 12:11 PM
JuanHuevos
I'm still around...mostly
JuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to behold
Running rough after a mod

Ok guys, I am new to the diesel thing but have been working on cars for a long time. I have 7.3 Ex and have done a few simple mods to it as seen by my signature. Today, I drilled out the banjo bolts on the ends of the heads. After I got it buttoned up, it wouldn't start. I charged the batteries and it finally started but it running rough. I have no codes and no other mods than the ones in my signature. During the no start period, this guy was making a whole lot of noise. I have no idea what is, again, new to the diesel thing. Should I not have drilled those banjos out? Any idea why this pump was so noisy? Any advice or direction you can offer would be great. Thanks!

Old 12-18-2014, 12:14 PM
Cracker 73
Senior User
Cracker 73 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Drilling banjo is ok as long as you de burr and that is a vacuum pump

Old 12-18-2014, 12:17 PM
JuanHuevos
JuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to beholdJuanHuevos is a splendid one to behold
Originally Posted by Cracker 73 View Post
Drilling banjo is ok as long as you de burr and that is a vacuum pump
Yes I did deburr, they were both nice and clean and smooth. I thought it was the vacuum pump but I expected something...bigger lol.

So would the rough running be a coincidence and not the result of the banjo drilling?

Old 12-18-2014, 12:36 PM
Cracker 73
Senior User