1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

No Heat - ’97 E250

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2014, 10:02 PM
gcvt
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy No Heat - ’97 E250

5.4L

I have limited knowledge of automotive A/C and heating systems but I do all the work on our BMW so I’m not afraid to wrench. Our E250 is not producing any heat. Is there an order of things to start checking/testing first, second, third, etc? Been reading about the blend door on the interwebs and fear that might be it, but I don’t know where to start diagnosing things. I assume I’m going to start at the climate control panel and work my way deeper from there?

Any advice appreciated.

Old 12-09-2014, 07:05 AM
JWA
Fleet Owner
Received 1,393 Likes on 1,102 Posts
First thing to check is coolant level. Believe it or not that's sometimes been overlooked when this sort of issue arises. Start engine, watch temp gauge climb until it gets close to operating temp, about 190. Look for the coolant level in the reservoir to drop as the t'stat opens---or doesn't. If it drops significantly there might not be enough circulating to fill the heater core.

We need to know if you have fan speed? Or is this just no heat at all?

If yes to above then its time to check the inlet side of the heater core---it'll be the hose coming off the front part of the engine. Once at operating temp does the hose feel warm? If it does then check the outlet hose for the same---if not similarly warm as the inlet then the heater core is blocked or plugged.

If its plugged I hope you're up for at least a full days challenge of changing this part---been there, done that and its NOT easy at all!

Also when posing such a question give us the engine size---I'm assuming this is a 5.4.

Old 12-09-2014, 09:14 PM
gcvt
Senior User
My bad. I edited my original post to add that it is indeed the 5.4.