Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are Snap-On tools worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2014, 02:45 PM
joegeds
Elder User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Are Snap-On tools worth it?

I'm looking at some of these prices and can't believe it. Typical 1/2" ratchet set (ratchet, 2 extenders, and 10 or so sockets) Snap-on wants $284. I can get the same set by Craftsman for $40. Now, I'm not a professional mechanic, but use my tools every weekend. I have really hunkered down on Craftsman sockets with breaker bars and even pipes attached to the breaker bar for more leverage. I've never once broken a Craftsman socket. I could buy 6 sets of Craftsman for that price and still have enough left over for a few cases of beer!

Old 11-04-2014, 02:54 PM
Freightrain
Lead Driver

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
For the typical backyard guy, I think Craftsman is good enough> Granted, it is FAR from what it was 35yrs ago. But, they still replace it if you break it. I don't think they are quite as forgiving as years ago. I haven't replaced more then a few pieces in near 40 yrs.

Old 11-04-2014, 03:09 PM
eakermeld
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I work on my own heavy equipment. I have a variety of Craftsman, Snap-ON, and S&K tools. I buy alot of them from yard sales and flea markets. If I were going with new stuff, I would go Craftsman. They have decent quality and a good warranty. I like the other stuff, But new is just too pricy. Everybody says you are buying the lifetime warranty, but even the cheap parts store China stuff has that. There might be a few times I would rather have a specific tool made by a specific company and when that time comes that is what I do. Opportunity influences my tool purchases i.e. flea markets. I'm not running down or promoting any of them. That's just my $.02 worth!

Old 11-04-2014, 03:15 PM
BocceMon