Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

f150 bogs down after replacing water pump

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2014, 10:01 AM
ajmalo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
f150 bogs down after replacing water pump

Hi all,

I bought a 93 f150 5.0 about six months ago and I love it.

Recently, all my antifreeze emptied out on me. So I replaced both the upper and lower hose - lower hose had a huge gouge in it from a rock or something. Still had a leak. Took it to the shop because I am not a mechanic- just can do basic things. They told me it was a bypass hose to the water pump. $90... Took it home - still leaking a bit. Took it back to the shop and they told me it was the water pump, said they would replace it for 300. I told them no thank you. Went to the auto parts store and picked up a water pump for about 40 and went to put that in. Well, it could have been the water pump, but I also had a gouge in the engine housing that connects the water pump. So I used some jbweld and let it cure. Sanded it smooth and flat. Put everything back together and no leak.

When I first went for a ride, it bogged down upon acceleration twice, then stopped. I didn't drive it for a day or so. Then I took it about 20 miles away (in Chicago that means about an hour/hour and a half trip). On the way there, the truck was fine - no bogging down. Then on the way back, just about every stop sign felt like the truck was going to stop running. It would bog around 5 mph and sometimes around 15 mph. It was sporadic - not every stop sign had it bogging. Check engine light came out for a few seconds about three times throughout the trip.