1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

2000 Ford F150 1/2 ton 2x 5.4L Rough Idle when outside temp below 50

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2013, 11:18 AM
NoobMechanic
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 Ford F150 1/2 ton 2x 5.4L Rough Idle when outside temp below 50

Hello everyone! As my name says, I am a noob mechanic but don't have the funds to take my truck to a shop so trying to get this solved on my own. Last year, I started having a problem where when the temp dropped below 50 degrees outside, my F150 would idle really rough and sometimes stall out. The CEL came on and reported some codes that I don't remember but pointed to bad air/fuel mix. I consulted a friend and he suggested changing out the IAC. I did that just towards the end of the cold weather spell we were having and the engine ran great so I assumed it was fixed.

Well, the temps have been below 50 for 8 days now and ever since the temps dropped the problem has come back. I took it to AutoZone to have the codes read and they gave me the following:

P1151 - Lack of O2 switches -bank 2 sensor 1 : ECM could not adjust fuel trim because of a lean or rich condition

AND

P0171 - Fuel trim bank one condition : The powertrain control module uses the oxygen sensor to calculate the Air/Fuel ratio of the engine. The computer recognized a rich or lean condition on one engine bank only.

Both printouts that they gave me mentioned the following:

Poor fuel pressur
Bad or Malfunctioning MAF sensor - Dirty/defective
Oxygen sensor defective
Fuel injector problem - Leaking or fuel pressure high/low
Vacuum leak on engine

I again called my mechanic friend and he suggested cleaning the MAF and if that didn't work replacing the MAF. I cleaned it and the problem was better but still not fixed. Before I go buy a $100 MAF sensor, I wanted to check with the experts here to get some advice or opinions on what might be the problem.

Thank you for your time!