Sponsored by: Moser

Vacuum line confusion on 2bbl Carb

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2013, 06:55 PM
WhoaFiveOh
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vacuum line confusion on 2bbl Carb

**Sorry, couldn't get pics to work right, so I put links to my Google Pics. Should just click to see the pic. Thanks!!**

Ok, so this is my first post on FTE. I purchased a 1974 F100 360FE/C6 a few weeks ago. I have been searching the forum and found LOTS of helpful information for some of my projects. Thanks for that! But, I have searched and scoured and can't seem to get a straight answer on some vacuum connections on my carburetor. I hope someone here can help. I have found several different vacuum diagrams and none seem to be for my engine. Or . . . I don't know how to read them. Which is possible. I am no mechanic, just know enough to get myself in trouble. When I bought the truck, PO said the carb needed rebuild/replace. After driving, I agreed. I went with replace because I got it cheap enough and don't know how to rebuild myself (would have to pay someone). I got a rebuilt Motorcraft 2bbl from National Carburetors. First issue . . . I didn't notice this until I installed the new carb, but there is an additional vacuum port on the back (see picture). I just left it capped. Anyone know what this is about?

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzWb...it?usp=sharing

Secondly, The other vacuum lines may be improper according to some other posts I have read. One leads from the front passenger side of the carb to the distributor advance. And one from the front driver side to a Vac Tree that is attached to the upper radiator hose/thermostat housing.

From the tree, one line goes to tranny and the other to a large vac port on the back of the engine (to the left and behind the choke).

From this connection large line goes to brake booster, 1 small line to the front tree pictured, and the other to the vac canister on the driver fender.