6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

new to desiel

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 12:28 PM
rogco
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to desiel

newbie here just bought a 2010 6.4 f250 and just wondering what i should know . do i have to put additives in the fuel and also im getting a tuner soon so like egt #'s what normal to high and so on

Old 07-10-2012, 03:26 PM
golfmedik
Lead Driver
Received 79 Likes on 15 Posts
Originally Posted by rogco
newbie here just bought a 2010 6.4 f250 and just wondering what i should know . do i have to put additives in the fuel and also im getting a tuner soon so like egt #'s what normal to high and so on
The best advice I can give is to follow the SEVERE DUTY maintenance schedule with oil changes at 5k, fuel filters at 10k, check all fluids while cold once every week and add an additive. I use Diesel Kleen and the Ford additive, which ever one I am closest to at the time. These truck have a ton of power at the stock level and are really awesome when tuned properly. I would suggest a monitoring system like the Edge CTS if your tuner does not come with one. Also be warned that your tranny will shift erratically after it is tuned until it 'learn' when to shift with the new program. your EGTs will depend on you right foot and whether or not you are dragging anything behind it. There is a vast wealth of info in this forum by very knowledgeable people. Spend some time with with the search feature on any topic you desire. That in turn will lead you to more topics and questions. You may be disappointed with the fuel mileage, but these are serious towing machines, just keep that in mind. You have to feed horses! Good luck!

Old 07-10-2012, 04:13 PM
rogco
New User
yea i ordered a h&s mini maxx with cat/dpf delete

Old 07-15-2012, 06:09 AM
AlaskaPowerStroke
Senior User