6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Lessons learned from installing a 4” turbo back exhaust system

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 05:26 PM
wgcdc
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lessons learned from installing a 4” turbo back exhaust system

I recently installed a 4” Magna Flow turbo back exhaust system and I learned several things that might be useful to someone new to this type of project. This is not intended to be the “correct” answer, but I hope it will help. My truck is 2006 Fx4 with automatic transmission which I understand can be more difficult to install. I am a relative newbie so this is intended to help us new guys out. If I have something wrong, feel free to correct or add.

First issue I ran across with Magna Flow is they had 3 sets of instructions.
1. The instructions that came with the system (one page was missing)
2. The written instructions from Magna Flows website
3. The video from Magna Flow’s website.
They all said slightly different things, which was a little frustrating, otherwise I like the system.

I found these videos helpfulYou should decide up front whether you want to salvage your old exhaust system or not. IMO, your install is MUCH simpler if you decide to not salvage your old system. If you don’t salvage your old system, just take a saws all and cut it up and take it out. The saws all (with a good metal blade) will cut right through your factory system with little effort. I found that you will not have to remove shocks, lower your transmission and remove braces (like the instructions say) if you cut up your old system.