1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Batteries going bad or other issues????

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2011, 02:56 PM
Mark Wanless
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Batteries going bad or other issues????

Hello All,
Recently became the owner of a 2000 7.3L F350SD crew cab, long bed. I am new to the world of diesels and am trying to learn as I go. Lately I have had an issue that is concerning to me, but prior to dumping a lot of money into something I’m not sure about, I want to see if there is a general consensus to my problem.

I searched the forums and found similar issues but not the “same” as mine, so here it is.

The truck starts fine, but soon after starting, the BATTERY light comes on. After about a minute it goes back out. The light coming on is more prevalent when I have not driven the truck for a few days. If I take a trip into town, shut it off, do business and start it up to come home, the light does not come on. The exception to this is if I have to turn my lights on. Then it comes on and goes back out after about a minute.

The date on one of the batteries put it at about two years old. It might be a bad assumption that the other one is the same. I will look at it today.

<OI live in Washington State so I don’t think the temperature is an issue on CCA.

Where or what would be a good place to look or check. Something I can do myself prior to taking it to a professional?

Thank you for your time and input.

Respectfully,
Mark

Old 03-18-2011, 03:09 PM
bpounds
Hotshot
Received 52 Likes on 41 Posts
First thing to do is a load test on both batteries, individually. That pretty much tells you everything you need to know about battery condition.

Incidentally, you should always replace them in pairs on a Powerstroke.

Old 03-18-2011, 03:19 PM
Mark Wanless
New User