1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

A few questions about my '01 F-150

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2011, 08:00 PM
QHgirl
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A few questions about my '01 F-150

To start, I'd like to say that I'm really new at trying to work on my truck myself. Mostly I'd like to figure out what is wrong with it before I take it in and get taken for a ride by some mechanic that sees a female and thinks I'll spend crazy amounts of money on repairs I don't need. Did that last year and am quite sick of it.

I've looked around in the FAQ's and have found a couple answers already, and since many here seem to be very knowledgeable about these things, figured I'd ask.

A couple issues I didn't see the answers to:

First, when I turn the wheel to the right almost as far as it will go there is a loud thud. It almost sounds like something is going to fall off and has made me think I've hit something a couple times, it's that loud, and the whole truck shudders.

Next, this is a new thing, usually happening when I've just started the truck and am backing out of a parking spot, or just getting ready to drive off. The RPM's will start to go up and down and the whole truck rocks back and forth. It's done this about 6 times now and just started about a month ago.

Last (for now), the engine oil light occasionally comes on and the dial drops all the way down to L. I checked the oil today and just got it changed recently by my Ford dealership, so I know the oil level isn't low. Sometimes when this happens the temperature gauge also drops all the way down to C, but not always. The oil gauge has done this ever since I bought the truck three years ago.

The truck itself is a 2001 4x4 4.6L

Old 03-01-2011, 09:02 PM
Ultramagdan
Post Fiend
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Welcome to the site!

How many miles do you have on it?
1) Is your truck 2wd or a 4X4?
2) Have you had the codes read? It could be the IAC or a vacuum issue.