Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

New Injection Pump Recomendations

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2015, 07:21 PM
shakenbake254
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Injection Pump Recomendations

This is my first time posting on FordTrucks but this site has been a big help so far with my '86 F250 6.9 restoration project. Anyway I have been slowly fixing the fuel system since I got her a few months ago. I deleted the FSV so it's only running on the front tank, all new return and supply lines, injector fuel return line kit, new fuel filter, electric fuel pump, and temporally bypassed the water separator. Now it looks like it's time for new injectors and a pump since my ip is leaking and the injectors and pump are factory with at least 160,000 miles on them.

I am going to buy Delphi BB injectors but I haven't been able to decide on a ip yet. I have been reading a bunch of threads on here and on oilburners and most people have been suggesting a baby moose ip but I am short on cash and I can't afford to have my truck down for to long. The two I'm looking at are a Delphi pump $508 from O'reilly auto parts or a Stanadyne pump $525 from thedieselstore. Both have a 1 year warranty. I haven't been able to find any reviews on the delphi unit so I'm hoping to hear from anybody who has experience with them.

Old 11-24-2015, 07:52 PM
Macrobb
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
They are all ****, sadly. Totally luck of the draw. The only person that I trust at this point is Justin at R&D. R&D IDI Performance - About
He's got both stock and improved pumps, and the improved pumps(when matched with a turbo) produce what they say they do.
It may be slightly more money than you want for a stock IP from him, but he does have some warranty and is good about making sure you don't get a dud.

Old 11-24-2015, 08:10 PM
shakenbake254
Freshman User