6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Up pipe failure

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2015, 10:53 AM
Super Duty Service
Former Vendor
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Up pipe failure

Hey guys,, I know,,, I'm a freakin newbie here on the 6.4 side!!! But I have a video for you all. I've never seen one crack like this. Have you all??

I wonder how high he bounced the truck,,, if he was baja running. Lol

Old 04-23-2015, 12:55 PM
vloney
Postmaster

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
One thing I've learned, keeping things unloaded and proper torque is important on a 6.4. NOTICE: Do not bend or twist the turbocharger inlet pipe or damage to the bellow on the turbocharger inlet pipe may occur.
  1. Install new gaskets on the exhaust manifolds-to-turbocharger inlet pipe joints.
  1. Position the turbocharger inlet pipes, new turbocharger inlet pipe-to-turbocharger gaskets and the EGR-OC bracket, and loosely install new turbocharger inlet pipe-to-turbocharger bolts.

1. NOTE: LH side shown, RH side similar.
    NOTE: A new service bolt may be installed at the upper location at the LH exhaust manifold.
    Loosely install the new turbocharger inlet pipe-to-exhaust manifold nuts.

1. Tighten the LH turbocharger inlet pipe-to-turbocharger bolts and LH turbocharger inlet pipe-to-exhaust manifold nuts (and service bolt).
    1. Tighten the bolts to 24 Nm (18 lb-ft).
    1. Tighten the nuts (and service bolt) to 31 Nm (23 lb-ft).

1. Tighten the RH turbocharger inlet pipe-to-turbocharger bolts and RH turbocharger inlet pipe-to-exhaust manifold nuts.
    1. Tighten the bolts to 24 Nm (18 lb-ft).
    1. Tighten the nuts to 31 Nm (23 lb-ft).

1. NOTICE: Make sure the correct bolts are installed in the bracket or damage to the Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR)-Oxidation Catalytic Converter (OC) pipe may occur.
    NOTE: EGR-OC pipe-to-RH turbocharger inlet pipe joint shown, EGR-OC pipe-to-horizontal EGR cooler joint similar.