Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Class A Motor Home with "mild" Performance 7.3

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2013, 12:04 AM
racer30
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Class A Motor Home with "mild" Performance 7.3

OK as promised I'm starting my Build thread for my 86 36' Vogue Cosmopolitan Class A Motor Home repower. I waited to start this thread until I was at the point of the swap so I can update as I remove the Detroit 8.2L Turbo engine and install the 7.3 engine. I have all the pics of the modifications to the engine and text about the reasons for some of the mods on Flickr. Please don't leave comments on my Flickr page. If you have questions about my build please ask on this thread or in a PM. Some back story might help I suppose, I am a Master RV tech and got the opportunity to buy this motorhome real cheep as it was towed into our dealership in November 08 with a "Blown" engine. when I looked at it I recognized it as a Motor Home I worked on when it was new in 86. I bought it for $500.00 plus tax and tabs. It came to $711.19 and I had it taken out of my check in three payments. The estimate for a rebuilt engine was $17000.00 at the local truck shop so the owner traded it in and we gave him a "blue sky" trade on a newer MH and I bought it right after he left the lot. Before he drove away I asked him about his trade. He said it still ran but would blow out the coolant and overheat in about 20 miles. I filled it with water and drove it 11 miles home. It has taken me over three years to collect all the parts to pull off this Build and swap. The MH is on a Gillig Bus chassis with a 22500 GVWR Running a Allison AT545 4 speed and 22.5 wheels. check out my Flickr Flickr: racer30sprint's Photostream

Old 08-14-2013, 12:38 AM
racer30
Senior User