1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Steering wheel play

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2012, 04:43 PM
Goatjacket
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steering wheel play

So I'm new to the old truck world and figuring things out.

My 55 has a ton of play in the steering wheel, in both directions, before it actually turns. I've been searching but just don't see direct answers. With a large amount of play, does this mean the steering box is shot? I know nothing about steering and would like to upgrade steering on the stock frame. Is there much adjustment or are my symptoms a sign I better replace components? Once the wheels start to turn its really smooth...just takes several inches of movement in the wheel before the tires turn! But I hear no clunks or noises whle turning.

To be honest once steering and brakes are improved this baby will drive like a dream

Old 08-11-2012, 06:36 PM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
Received 2,059 Likes on 804 Posts
I have gone through the same problem with '49 F-2. I ended up going through the entire front end replacing the worn steering box, rebuilding the drag link, replacing the tie rods and king pins. I did these in steps over a period of month feel improvements for each part replaced or rebuilt. What I'm say is I found each part affects the steering and from recent experience when replace one part you'll probably find more parts that are in need of replacement.

Old 08-11-2012, 08:06 PM
Goatjacket
New User
Did you have the same play amounts in the steering wheel? As with any project I expect to uncover more jobs at each corner. Wasn't sure if there was one "kit" that would renew steering or not

Old 08-11-2012, 09:01 PM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
I had a lot play. I say I had at least 10-15°. There's still a little but I don't know how much there should be but I doubt I could get it much tighter.