1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'Rage's wiper motor tech line

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2002, 11:04 AM
fatfenders
Post Fiend
Received 123 Likes on 94 Posts

Joe

When you get all the glass back in your house and whatever else needs done to your humble abode, I need a little more wiper wisdom. I'll post my original if in the next post. Here's the deal. The wiper switch has seven terminals: B-1-2-3-4-5-W I have messed around some and all I have is one speed which I think is slow but I won't swear to it. The switch has off-low-high position. High position yields the only wiping movement. Heres the kicker, it goes to park when you return to off. I'm not imagining this. The arms/blades are off at the moment and I put a dot on it to verify the park function.

I'm not an electrician but I assume that B is for BAT power. Here are some continuity checks.

Off B-5

Low B-1-3

High B-2-4

Here is how it was wired when I found it. B-Fuse block 1-Red 2-GRN 5-GND

Starting to wonder if the motor is just shot. If it is I am adapting a decent motor to it instead of this high proiced aftermarket junk.

No hurry on this AT ALL, I am not going for any drives in the rain today.

'fenders

Old 11-29-2002, 11:08 AM
fatfenders
Post Fiend

Here's the wiper motor info from my previous cry for help:

LAST EDITED ON 31-Oct-02 AT 06:49 PM (EST)

Rage
Got the motor dropped. Connector on motor is labeled and has 5 terminals.

L H P S X

I can see where the terminals go out the back of connector and is wired to the motor:

"L" has 2 wires coming out, 1 into the motor and 1 goes to back of the S terminal

"H" goes into motor

"P" not currently used

"S" as mentioned goes back to "L" and nowhere else

"X" not currently used

Wiper had one speed and that was slow. The wiper appears to be grounded by the case rather than the harness. There is a male connector that appears to be for that purpose. Wasn't used.