1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Changing the Front Shocks - 1986 Ford F-150

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2018, 04:10 PM
1986RedRider
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing the Front Shocks - 1986 Ford F-150

All:

I want to change the front shocks on my 1986 Ford F-150 (4X4) this weekend. I have NEVER done anything like this before. The guy at Advance Auto Parts and the videos on You Tube show that it SHOULD be as simple as removing two bolts, taking the old shocks off and adding the new shocks and the rubber gaskets, etc.
However, I know Murphy's Law is always present.

Here are my questions:
1) IS this really as simple as it looks and appears to be? I have wire brushed the nuts and have sprayed PB Blaster on them nearly every night for 10 days. (I do not drive the truck too often). I assume that this effort SHOULD help me. I did buy a breaker bar and a torque wrench. I also bought some anti-seize for when I put the new shock on.
2) I was told to start on the old shocks by taking off the bottom nut and bolt and then take off the top. Then I assume I would start by putting the new shock in from top to bottom. (The reverse). I was told that you would bolt the top in and then let the shock ease down to the holes to bolt the bottom on. Is this the right way to do this?
3) What Murphy's Law (or Oh Shucks) moment might I encounter in this whole process? I certainly do not want to start and then find I cannot complete this job.
4) What shocks would you recommend me buying? My truck is a 4X4 with a 302 EFI engine. I want a smooth ride but also want a shock that would work if I take the truck deer hunting and need to go off road. (I am not a mudder though). So a shock that is smooth on the highway but could be good for some off road use - but not extreme off roading. Does that make sense?