1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1949 F-2 :: New Member Intro

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2017, 06:46 PM
tonyguns
Tuned
Received 67 Likes on 36 Posts
1949 F-2 :: New Member Intro

Hello All,

While I'm not new to forums or restoring cars to an extent, I am new to owning anything this old. I have a few questions for you all, but first let me tell you about the truck, and what I am hoping to get out of it.

I recently purchased what appears to be an unrestored one owner 1949 F-2 farm truck with some rust, but overall pretty solid where it counts. I don't have it home yet, but it's paid for, and on its way. My goal is to keep it pretty original if the flat-head V8 is rebuildable, and initially get it running and driving forst and foremost. I may restore the exterior in the future, but for now I love the old, worn and well used appearance. It's earned every stripe, and I think it's cool, just needs a little cleanup and patch work here and there.

My questions are:

1. I don't want to do a front end swap, I want to keep the front suspension stock, but add disk brakes and power steering to the original setup. What are the best components to accomplish this?

2. Is there an automatic transmission that can be adapted to the Flat-Head V8? I ask this because if I am not mistaken, these stock transmissions are of the double clutch, non-syncro variety, and generally not a lot of fun.

3. I want leather seat covers for the original bench seat, and add seat belts, is there a reasonable source for these types of items? I can re-upholster the seats myself if covers can be had at a reasonable price.

4. What rear axle would be best to upgrade the stock unit to given I have an F-2 and want to keep the original wheels?

I'm sure I'll have many more questions along the way and once I get the truck here, but I think this is a good start.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Farm fresh.

Old 08-18-2017, 07:16 PM
76-5.0