Power booster install '48-'52 F2 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Power booster install '48-'52 F2

 
  #1  
Old 12-06-2014, 05:54 PM
petemcl's Avatar
petemcl
petemcl is offline
Still Learnin'
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 4,220
petemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud of
Power booster install '48-'52 F2

As I promised in a previous post I did figure out how to modify a CPP '48-'52 (4852BB2) power brake booster/dual master cylinder kit to fit my '50 F2. It isn't hard once you figure it out. Here are the steps:


The lower hole in the support bracket for the new assembly does not perfectly match the hole in the old master cylinder pedal support riveted to the frame and the trans crossmember. Drill the hole in the old support 1 size larger. Use ⅜" fine thread, 4" long, grade 8, plated bolts.



The new cross brace does not fit into the frame either. Mark the amount to be trimmed.


Trim the amount marked with a high speed cut off grinder.


Temporarily bolt the two halves of the new mount together and secure the assembly to the frame with a clamp. Mark the holes to be drilled in the frame with a punch.




Drill the holes in the frame by drilling a pilot hole from the inside first and then drill the final sized hole from the outside. Bolt the cross brace to the frame loosely.


Remove the temporary bolts and install the booster assembly in its designed holes. Install and tighten the 4" long grade 8 bolts so that they clamp the new assembly securely to the old pedal support. Tighten the frame to cross brace bolts.


Install the new master cylinder push rod linkage Heim joint into the old pedal yoke and adjust the linkage for the proper pedal height. You may need to spread the old pedal yoke slightly.

Did I miss anything in the instructions?
 

Last edited by petemcl; 12-07-2014 at 09:13 AM. Reason: Corrected part number
  #2  
Old 12-06-2014, 08:25 PM
Tedster9's Avatar
Tedster9
Tedster9 is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Waterloo, Iowa
Posts: 14,958
Tedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputationTedster9 has a superb reputation
Go for a beer! Looks great.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-2014, 07:08 AM
Grey Beard's Avatar
Grey Beard
Grey Beard is offline
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Otis,MA
Posts: 161
Grey Beard is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
You make it look easy...
Do you think it's possible with the cab in place? Probably just more awkward.
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-2014, 07:20 AM
Rimrock F1's Avatar
Rimrock F1
Rimrock F1 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rimrock AZ
Posts: 1,149
Rimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud ofRimrock F1 has much to be proud of
Just wondering. Did you have the kit for a 53 to 56 and that's why you had to modify it? The reason I ask is they make a kit for the 48-52 and it bolts in as you show with no modification.
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-2014, 09:17 AM
petemcl's Avatar
petemcl
petemcl is offline
Still Learnin'
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 4,220
petemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud of
Originally Posted by Rimrock F1 View Post
Just wondering. Did you have the kit for a 53 to 56 and that's why you had to modify it? The reason I ask is they make a kit for the 48-52 and it bolts in as you show with no modification.
Thanks for catching that Mike. I had the wrong part number in there. That kit is for '48-'52 F1s (4852BB2) but I guess because of the difference in the F2 crossmember it doesn't fit. We had talked about the '53-'56 so I had to look up what I finally ordered and received.
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-2014, 09:27 AM
petemcl's Avatar
petemcl
petemcl is offline
Still Learnin'
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 4,220
petemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud of
Originally Posted by Grey Beard View Post
You make it look easy...
Do you think it's possible with the cab in place? Probably just more awkward.
Yes, you could do it with the cab in place particularly if you had a lift. The hardest part was getting the last two 4" long bolts tightened.
 
  #7  
Old 09-06-2017, 06:46 PM
pineconeford's Avatar
pineconeford
pineconeford is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,878
pineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant futurepineconeford has a brilliant future
Hi Pete and everyone,

I'm about to begin planning putting an under-cab brake system on my '49 F3.
This thread has a very good how-to but since it is three years old, I was wondering if there are any further modifications that are recommended to this set-up or any other kits that folks have found that will fit an F2/F3.
Thanks for any replies.
Tom
 
  #8  
Old 09-06-2017, 09:56 PM
pweng1's Avatar
pweng1
pweng1 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,188
pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.
Can you take some pics of the inside where the rods meet i think you giving me a great idea on another project.
 
  #9  
Old 01-14-2019, 02:42 PM
Speedcanuck's Avatar
Speedcanuck
Speedcanuck is offline
Junior User
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 85
Speedcanuck has a good reputation on FTE.Speedcanuck has a good reputation on FTE.
My question is, why not put in engine bay where brake fluid can be added easily? Not only that but brake fluid is hydroscopic, and where do you get most water? Under the cab.
my two $.02
but then ive completly customized interior, so wouldnt want to pull up carpet, remove a floor plate every time i wanted to flush or do brakes.

 
  #10  
Old 01-14-2019, 05:22 PM
4T9R
4T9R is offline
Freshman User
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 28
4T9R is starting off with a positive reputation.
I have a 49 F1, I'm at that point. I have read where others say there firewall flexes. I agree, with the issue of filling, I don't want a remote filler either. I'm also concerned about switching pedals.
 
  #11  
Old 01-15-2019, 02:08 AM
1949f1's Avatar
1949f1
1949f1 is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: clinton,tn
Posts: 988
1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.1949f1 has a great reputation on FTE.
I also have a 49F1 and I put mine on the firewall with a brace to the lower dash and it does not do any flexing.
 
  #12  
Old 01-15-2019, 08:01 AM
Speedcanuck's Avatar
Speedcanuck
Speedcanuck is offline
Junior User
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 85
Speedcanuck has a good reputation on FTE.Speedcanuck has a good reputation on FTE.
Yes, you will get flex if you dont brace to the dash. But thats where i put my peddle pivot too. Solid. The dash is more solid too.
 
  #13  
Old 01-15-2019, 12:02 PM
Mr. Ed
Mr. Ed is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 550
Mr. Ed has a good reputation on FTE.Mr. Ed has a good reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by Speedcanuck View Post
My question is, why not put in engine bay where brake fluid can be added easily? Not only that but brake fluid is hydroscopic, and where do you get most water? Under the cab.
my two $.02
but then ive completly customized interior, so wouldnt want to pull up carpet, remove a floor plate every time i wanted to flush or do brakes.


That's where I am having mine located. But mine has the bigger diaphragm since I was told my truck has a mild cam. It's in and piped. Just waiting for the exhaust then I should have Henry back at home.

Later!
Mr. Ed
 
  #14  
Old 01-21-2019, 08:23 AM
petemcl's Avatar
petemcl
petemcl is offline
Still Learnin'
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 4,220
petemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud ofpetemcl has much to be proud of
Originally Posted by 4T9R View Post
I have a 49 F1, I'm at that point. I have read where others say there firewall flexes. I agree, with the issue of filling, I don't want a remote filler either. I'm also concerned about switching pedals.
Not a problem with remote fill. And you never have to remove the MC cover so you keep dirt out. The system is sealed. Also easy to see when and if you need fluid. You also can use the stock pedals.



 
  #15  
Old 01-21-2019, 10:14 AM
pweng1's Avatar
pweng1
pweng1 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,188
pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.pweng1 has a good reputation on FTE.
I have just changed the one on my 54 Coe. I made a plate with the 3 holes for ford and 4 holes for booster outside them. The plate bolts to original cross member with 1.5 inch spacers and the booster bolts to it. A small bracket from master cylinder to frame. I dont have pics and its too cold to lay underneath now. It fills from the wheel well with funnel.I wont be testing it until warmer weather but i intend to do my other coe the same.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
timbuctooCal
1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
1
02-06-2018 05:36 PM
timbuctooCal
1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
0
02-05-2018 12:19 PM
rswhitmore
Ranchero & 1961 - 1967 Econoline
9
06-04-2017 05:33 PM
mrpotatohead
Garage & Workshop
1
05-08-2017 01:56 PM
packrat56
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
8
03-10-2017 08:27 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Power booster install '48-'52 F2


Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.