new to BIO

Old 05-27-2010, 12:11 PM
deerhunter9309
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to BIO

alright ya'll i have a 1990 f250 with the 7.3L international. i wanna know if i can just get some old fry oil from like mcDonalds filter it and put it strait in to the tank WITH OUT ANY SIDE EFFECTS!!!!!....now dont get me wrong i love my good old diesel but damn these prices!! and i for sure cant have anyting go wrong with the old beater so i gotta know 110% for sure that it wont hurt anyting....the truck has no turbo and is all stock...can ya'll help me?

Old 05-27-2010, 12:39 PM
binuya
Fleet Mechanic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
To clarify, wvo is not biodiesel. But as far as your question, the answer would be no. While it should run just fine for a while, there's a whole list of other things you need to do to do it right besides filtering it, which is really the easy part. I am no expert on SVO (straight vegetable oil), as I make biodiesel, but dewatering is crucial, (and yes, fryer oil above 212F will hold water), and you need to run a heated system with a separate fuel tank. There's more to it than that, but those are key, and without doing either you'll risk mucking up your fuel system from tank all the way to the injectors.

Here's a good place to go for research if you plan to svo or bio:
Forums - Powered by Social Strata

Old 05-27-2010, 02:31 PM
TurnerBioDiesel
Junior User
Originally Posted by binuya