N. California Chapter Join Chapter , Leader: Nighteyez

71 Ford Needs Front End Work

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2010, 07:44 PM
micklskot
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
71 Ford Needs Front End Work

Well, not long ago, went to the local shop to get a front end alignment and found out that I need a lot of work in order for them to even do an alignment on my truck.

I'm not exactly sure all of the work that needs to be done, but I'm sure I'm going to need new bushings among other things. There is a local community college where I could get the work done to save some bucks, but my other option is to do the work myself using the Beale AFB auto shop which has tools and there are mechanics there that could possibly give me advice.

I've never done anything like this before with replacing bushings, etc. What what you guys recommend, and as far as parts, where is the best place to get them?

Thanks....

Old 01-16-2010, 09:28 AM
fastmover
Posting Guru
Hmmm.. are there any junkyards around you. I am not too knowledgeable about that stuff, but hopefully Dan, Mike or one of the other wrenchers around here will pipe in.

Old 01-16-2010, 02:39 PM
micklskot
Junior User
Fastmover,
Thanks for taking time to respond to my post.

Old 01-16-2010, 05:20 PM
3Mike6
Postmaster
Kinda tough to give advice w/o knowing what you need to have done, I just (about 4-6 weekes ago) did RA and I beam bushing on a friends '68-should be the same as yours-and can help you with advice from there if need be.

My friend brought me over parts from NAPA, I did have to reem the inner RA bushings to make them fit, other than that no issues.

Old 01-16-2010, 09:19 PM
micklskot
Junior User