6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

05 6.0 w/ Plow on having cooling issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2010, 05:15 PM
sgthawkusmc
Posting Guru
Received 87 Likes on 52 Posts
05 6.0 w/ Plow on having cooling issues

I've read through all the tsb info and quite a few threads, but it hasn't answered my question yet. On the highway my truck has been getting hot when I'm running with the plow on. I've been plowing with this same truck for 5 years now and I haven't had any cooling issues until now. It seems like the clutch fan isn't kicking in and it lets the truck get too hot. I have the plow prep package which means I have the HD clutch fan.
Has anyone else had this happen? Think it could be a weak clutch fan? Also, the service manual says you have to pull the radiator to pull the fan clutch. Is this true or is it doable to get around it. It looks pretty tight. I already have the fan clutch wrenches etc.

Old 01-02-2010, 05:21 PM
bigredtruckmi
Lead Driver
Received 218 Likes on 50 Posts
I would check to be sure the radiator fins are clean and doesn't have snow buildup (from plowing) as a start. Your thermostate might not be opening up completely as a second spot.

Old 01-02-2010, 05:28 PM
sgthawkusmc
Posting Guru
No snow build up and it's a well maintained truck so no debris in the radiator/fins. I'd look at the tstat, but I think that would do it whenever it got hot not just on the highway with the plow.

Old 01-02-2010, 05:28 PM
MoyockPowerstroke
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by sgthawkusmc