Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not Lining Up - Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2009, 01:57 PM
Jupes
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not Lining Up - Help Please

Rather than continuing to hijack another user's thread, I thought I'd better start a separate one since I have more questions. I'm just a simple backyard mechanic who's willing to try anything but old enough to be more careful these days :-)

I recently bought a '96 F-250 with the 4.9 L inline 6, and I have to change the distributor because the cap bolts were so rusty they sheared right off even after soaking them for a couple days with PB blaster. (Unless someone knows of a fix for this - which I doubt?)

Now, according to the other post, to change the distributor, I do the following:

• Take the cap and adapter off the top of the distributor.
  • Turn the engine by hand (crankshaft bolt) until the pointer in the distributor points to the rear about where number one wire was on the cap.
  • Then look at the pointer down at the crankshaft damper an position the engine where the pointer points to Top Dead Center (TDC).
  • Do not move the engine until after the new distributor is in place.
  • Remove the hold down bolt and pull the distributor out.
  • Drop the new distributor in and have pointer pointing to where number one wire would be on the cap.
  • Start the distributor hold down bolt until you can just turn the distributor by hand.
  • Remove the SPOUT shorting bar.
  • Hook a timing light to number one wire after you put the rotor, cap and adapter back on.
  • Start the engine and turn the distributor until the pointer points to 10 degrees BTDC.
  • Tight the hold down bolt and recheck the timing.
  • If still at 10 BTDC put the SPOUT back in and check to see that the timing moves some.