Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Complex overheating/overcooling problem...need knowledgeable help...I'VE HAD IT

Old 04-05-2009, 08:48 PM
MattP51
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Complex overheating/overcooling problem...need knowledgeable help...I'VE HAD IT

(1991 351W) All common sense fixes have already been attempted...need someone who has already gone through this and knows where the problem lies. I AM AN EXPERIENCED HOME MECHANIC AND AT MY WITTS END.

Problem: engine is overheating and overcooling. Struggling with prob since purchase 2 years ago.

Engine fully warmed only reads very cool on temp gauge...verified by luke warm heat blowing from heater. Able to hold radiator hoses in hand indefinatley (just warm to the touch). Flushed and reverse flushed engine and heater core...no change.

Out of the blue one day it overheats after a 5 minute drive and shoots coolant from overflow.

Next day its fine, again running on the coldest side of normal on the gauge.

Not wanting to take any chances after overheating episode, I repaired with NEW waterpump, & NEW 195 stat (pre tested in boiling water). Checked old pump and impellor intact and turning fine.

After full warm up, temp gauge is again steady at COLD. NOTHING CHANGED. AS ABOVE , heater output only warm...able to HOLD rad hoses...just warm. HOW CAN THIS BE?

THIS WEEKEND ...round trip from Ohio to North Carolina and back to Ohio....25 hours of driving.

12 hours out there towing a car, runs entire way at cold. Coming back today/tonight, towing an empty trailer, it goes nuts. First half of trip runs at cold/cool. Then out of nowhere temp gauge begins to climb until reading nearly full hot....pull over and coolant blows out of overflow. Hoses are hot as hell and can't even touch them.