Post Fiend
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lug Nuts, to lube or not to lube, that is the question

Old 08-01-2002, 12:22 PM
hitecdan
Elder User

The subject of lubing lug nuts or not to lube lug nuts is a subject I would like to get some input on. I've heard that yes it's the thing to do and no it's not.

I lube my truck's lug nut because I swap out my street tires for a set of mud tires a couple times a year. One of the places I like to go dirt biking requires me to drive down 7 to 8 miles of snotty, muddy, hilly dirt road. My Dunlop Mud Rovers have saved my butt a few times now. I'm worried about stripping the wheel studs because of the higher then normal wheel changes. I use a torque wrench and torque each nut to 100 foot pounds.

My questions are what do you guys do? Should the lug nuts be torqued dry and if so how much does the torque value change with lubrication? I’ve been doing this for a few years now and the wheels haven’t fallen off yet, and I hope they never do.

Old 08-01-2002, 02:02 PM
Steve_Uzi
Laughing Gas

Simple answer....

ANTI-SIEZE COMPOUND , its the grey messy stuff that makes your rags glitter... It won't effect torque readings.. but provides a nice graphite based coating on the threads

Its also good to use on the slides for your Brake calibers!

Old 08-01-2002, 02:14 PM
greenpus
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 01-Aug-02 AT 03:16 PM (EST)]I have been greasing my lugs for over 25 years and I have never used a torque wrench. Never had a problem.

Old 08-02-2002, 05:21 AM
DailyDriver
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've been using anti-size compound on my lug nuts for many years without a problem. I don't use a torque wrench, I just snug'um up tight. It also makes it easier for the Mrs. to break loose the nuts in case she has to change a tire.

Old 08-02-2002, 11:55 AM
MrBSS
Posting Guru