Sponsored by: Moser

How do you engage 4 wheel drive?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2007, 11:56 AM
fordman71
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How do you engage 4 wheel drive?

I'm new to 4 wheel drives. Whats the proper way to engage 4 wheel drive in older trucks with manual hubs and a 205 transfer case? Is the same with automatics and 4 speeds? I've heard that you have to lock the hubs and then back up a little then go forward. Can you drive on the highway in 4 wheel if only for a short distance? Thanks

Old 11-19-2007, 12:09 PM
Tim C
Senior User
To engage the 4wd, just turn the hubs and shift the stick into 4hi or 4lo. Manual tranny in neutral, with an auto it may help to be in N also. To disengage, turn hubs to free, and shift back to 2hi. You may have to change direction a 5- 15 feet to completely disengage hubs (you might hear them click softly). In other words, if you were going forward, back up, and if you were backing up in 4wd, pull forward. If you need to drive on the pavement, you can leave the hubs lock in, but put the transfer case shifter in 2hi. If the hubs are locked on the street, you may get a vibration at speed. Try not to go over 45 much with the hubs locked.

Tim

Old 11-19-2007, 12:19 PM
Matts72
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
You shouldn't drive on dry pavement in 4wd... thats what my owners manual says... it also says not to run with the hubs locked in / transfer case in 2wd.

I just put the truck in Park, lock the hubs in (warn premiums) and shift into 4wd and go.

Old 11-19-2007, 12:33 PM
Duke78
Senior User
I have a 4 speed but still have the 205 transfer case.

Put the truck in Park, get out and turn the hubs to "LOCK". Get back in the truck pull the transfer case lever to "4H" or "4L". Put the truck in drive and you're good to go.