Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Break Shutter AND PS Vibration

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007, 08:49 PM
AJBerb
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Break Shutter AND PS Vibration

Greetings everyone. This is my first time posting and since I rely on my truck for towing my racecar, I will probably be around some. I probably won't be able to contribute much since I'm not a truck officianodo.

I've searched through many previous threads in order to find an answer to my problem. I've found threads on power steering and threads on brakes, but haven't been able to find one regarding both. Hopefully someone will be able to help me out. I've had pretty good luck with stumping the experts. Please don't let me down. Here is the issue. It may be kinda long, but bear with me.

The issue is that under braking I feel a vibration in the steering wheel. I feel a vibration/resonance in the brake pedal also. Sometimes the steering effort increases like the power steer pump went out. If I shut the truck off and turn it back on, the steering is fine. When the brakes and the steering is the worst, there is a vibration coming from under the hood. It comes from the outermost high pressure hydro boost line (closest to fender).

Here is what I have done to fix it so far.
Rotated the tires. Had front rotors turned. Replaced front pads. Removed/replaced front slide pins. Replaced rear rotors. Replaced rear pads. Removed/replaced rear slide pins. Bled brakes. Had rear ABS sensor replaced.

Could a bad power steering pump or power steering box cause this? Could one of these cause the power steering fluid to airate and throw of the brake power assist? How affective would bleeding PS system be? I am going to check the low pressure inlet to the PS pump for cracks which could cause airation. I do know that the pitman arm rod end is loose, but the brakes seem to shutter even why turning. What about a bad wheel speed sensor?