6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

10k Oil Change?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2007, 05:33 PM
cHiLi 11
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 10k Oil Change?

Ok so I read a couple diffrent threads on which synthetic oild you should run in the 6.4L. Can someone please break it down for the noob here? Reading all the diffrent post on what's legit and what's not gave me a headache. Back when I had 5k miles on the truck, I took the truck to Xpress Lube where they used Havoline URSA H15/40 and the dealer said that was fine. Coming up on 10k soon, would you stick with that oil or use something diffrent? Thanks for the help.

Nick

Old 11-12-2007, 05:46 PM
fordfish
Senior User
I believe the 6.4 ,under normal use, is a 10K mile oil change interval, personally I've used Rotella and Amsoil, amsoil beacause I am too busy to worry about Oil Changes- It's a 25K 1 time a year change. Look up Amsoil I'm sure all your Q's will be answered.

Old 11-12-2007, 07:22 PM
diesel_dan
Lead Driver
Received 409 Likes on 271 Posts
As long as you can afford to pay all your own repairs, since Amsoil is not CJ-4 certified (as Ford requires for warranty), and extended OCIs will also throw you out of warranty, go ahead and use it...

I'd stick with a CJ-4 rated oil if it were me -- One of the reasons I bought a new truck is for the warranty...

Old 11-12-2007, 07:50 PM
blue ghost
Junior User
Originally Posted by diesel_dan
As long as you can afford to pay all your own repairs, since Amsoil is not CJ-4 certified (as Ford requires for warranty), and extended OCIs will also throw you out of warranty, go ahead and use it...

I'd stick with a CJ-4 rated oil if it were me -- One of the reasons I bought a new truck is for the warranty...