Scam Alert!!!!!!
I just want everyone to be aware of potential scams floating around FTE. A guy named Larry ( I cant remember his FTE screen name to save my life and I deleted my PM) who suposedly was from Sweden inquired about my 79 F250 I had for sale here in the classifieds. There are a lot of ins and outs to the deal that would take no less than 5000 words to explain but regardless he sent me a cashiers check then asked for the money back via western union. Turns out the cashiers check was fake. These days internet sales are very risky and I knew that but didnt expect it from FTE members. Only thing I have is an email address from the guy Shigobancy200@yahoo.com and the name Lawrence James Florsniauk (or something like that) I consider all of you my friends and just dont want anything bad to happen to you. Luckily Im only out the cost of mailing the check back to him and a stop payment fine of like $28. It would have been easy for me to lose a lot lot more. If I lost the money over a stupid part I could care less but losing a truck is a big deal.
Anyway, I just though you should know. Maybe a moderator can make this a sticky or put it in the correct place.
Thanks
Kris
Last edited by STGFordCrazy04; Sep 26, 2007 at 12:22 PM.
Check out the site announcements and the UF&S forums.
I too receivede-mails but wasa on to them like .............. blanket
They seem to be targeting 73-79 truck stuff.
Here are 2 of them.
NOTICE: This message is from another user on Ford Truck Enthusiasts concerning your classifieds ad. Be aware that scammers and con-artists often use online classifieds to try to rip off people.
We recommend you read the following web page before replying to anyone who contacts you via our classifieds:
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/...erpayalrt.shtm
The following message is from someone contacting you via our classifieds:
NEW & Experienced Assorted AM/FM Cassette **** style stereos
Dear Seller,
Good-day i am mr Blanck Goddon i live in sweden europ I saw your car in these classified address
{www.sellmycaravan.co.uk} and am interested in buying your Car . I could
like to know the actual amount of it and the present condition state and i
will prefer to pay with a certifield cheque and about the shipping I know
a good shipping company that I am using .kindly get back now with the
price and if you get the picture you can send to my box mail to view.
Are you a private seller?
Will you accept my offer?
Do you accept (usa bank certifield cheque) as my method of payment? I would
want you to email me back with your last offering, Asap,
Best Regards
Blanck
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
NOTICE: This message is from another user on Ford Truck Enthusiasts concerning your classifieds ad. Be aware that scammers and con-artists often use online classifieds to try to rip off people.
We recommend you read the following web page before replying to anyone who contacts you via our classifieds:
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/...erpayalrt.shtm
The following message is from someone contacting you via our classifieds:
NEW & Experienced Assorted AM/FM Cassette **** style stereos
Just a note to show my interest in your item placed on advert,I'm really interested in the purchase.Kindly let me know the selling cost and the present condition,Perhaps a pics if available...
My payment method will be via US Funds Cashiers Cheque drawn from a US bank and will clear fine...If acceptable kindly get back to me with this details below:-
Full name...
Full address...
City..
State..
Zipcode...
Phone number...
Mr Patrick...
Last edited by Mil1ion; Sep 26, 2007 at 12:44 PM.
As with anything in life a little common sense can go a long way. Scammers are getting good though and can be very trick. On ANY international transaction I will hold payment until I am sure it clears the bank and THEN release the parts or car.
I tell buyers this in advance though, and so far the real buyers seem understanding and cooperative with this practice.




