1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Difference between F1 and F2

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2007, 04:24 AM
mette
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Difference between F1 and F2

Hi,

Bare with me as I'm a complete rookie. It's been a dream of mine for some years now to get an F1 Ford truck 1948-1950, and I have now moved a little closer to actually realising this dream.

I've been looking on one that was apparently an F2 with a stakebed, but now fitted with a halfton bed.

What is the differences between the two models, besides the obvious heavy duty springs and the 8-lug wheels. ( it has a 302/C4 conversion with the original rear axle)

I'm thinking maybe a million revs at freeway speed or real stiff suspension??

Can any of these things easily be changed over?

Can it be converted from 8-lug wheels to 5-lug wheels?

Thanks,
~Mette

Old 09-03-2007, 07:50 AM
GreatNorthWoods
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Are you sure it's a half ton (F1) bed? The F2/F3 pickups came with an 8 foot bed since they had a 122 inch wheelbase. The F1s had a 114 inch wheelbase. You can make the conversion to 5 lug easy enough by changing out the rear end to a 57-72 F-100 nine inch which will bolt-in (you may have to fabricate shock mounts) and get the freeway revs down at the same time. On the front all you need are the 5 lug brakes and drums for an F1. They will bolt on to the F2 axle.

Old 09-03-2007, 08:29 AM
havi
I'll have the Roast Duck
Received 45 Likes on 28 Posts
front fender opening will be larger on the F2, also.

Old 09-04-2007, 07:58 AM
mette
New User
Hi