1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Don't try this at home

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2007, 11:11 AM
imlowr2
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Don't try this at home

Being bored, I figured I was going to redo the fuel line coming from the fuel pump to the carburator. The new line came out really nice. To put it on, I needed to remove the ignition wires from the distributor cap and run the wires under the fuel line. I pulled the one side off all at once. Figuring I'm a good mechanic, I put them back in the distributor cap. Went to start the engine to check if I had any gas leaks, and BAMM. I shot a 2 foot flame out the top of the carb. So, being the intelligent person I am, I decided to crank it a few more times, BAMM, another flame, and I notice the fuel line was dripping gas at the carb. I checked the wires again and found that I crossed #6 and 7 on the distributor. But I had fun this weekend.

Old 04-30-2007, 11:17 AM
bobbytnm
Roast em' if you got 'em
Received 3,941 Likes on 1,878 Posts
LOL.....woohooo!! I've been there.

Yeah, that first bout of flame throwing had to be a fluke, no way would it happen again (especially with all the raw fuel dripping all over the engine) Why not, lets crank it again......(or at least thats how the thought process always seems to go in my head)

Bobby

Old 04-30-2007, 12:52 PM
azls1
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Don't try this at home? Where should we try it?
Next to the firehouse I suppose.

Old 04-30-2007, 02:27 PM
4tl8ford
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Don't ya just love it

Old 04-30-2007, 03:47 PM
jimhackney
Senior User
Big Pop

That's better than firecrackers

Old 04-30-2007, 06:36 PM
59flatbedford
Posting Guru
its even better when it blows flame out the carb and the open headers.dont ask my how or why. hey we were in highschool, oh yea i still am.

Old 04-30-2007, 06:40 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 617 Likes on 383 Posts