Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant passing through the throttle body...

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2007, 08:26 PM
eco
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Coolant passing through the throttle body...

The throttle body on my 302 has a passage for coolant to pass through it. To me, this seems like a dumb idea...but then again I am not an engineer.

Why does the TB have coolant passing through it?

Old 03-31-2007, 08:27 PM
quicklook2
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
so it doesn't ice up.

many manufacturers do this.

Old 03-31-2007, 09:26 PM
Talyn
Hotshot
Received 42 Likes on 38 Posts
Hes right.

Older carburators would freeze up, as dumb as it sounds.

By passing coolant through it, it keeps it from freezeing, then condensateing and haveing water get in the engine.

Old 03-31-2007, 09:28 PM
quicklook2
Post Fiend
in california i usually disconnect it.

in ohio i leave it hooked up.

some say you can feel an improvement in power in the summer but i did not.

Old 03-31-2007, 09:37 PM
SteelTaz1
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The coolant acts as a radiator to heat the air as it passes through the Throttle body due to the air mixture is "more efficent" its all art of the emissions BS.
Or so I was told.

Old 03-31-2007, 09:46 PM
eco
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post