Cleaning out old gas

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2007, 07:46 AM
Jermafenser
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Cleaning out old gas

I just purchased a '79 F-250 2wd. It has the single tank. the previous owner said the gas was at least two years old. I'd like to dump it out of the tank before I put fresh gas in and rebuild the carburetor.

I have never done such a procedure before, so what is the good way to dump old gas at home? I don't have a lot of tools or place to wrench it anytime I'd like to so I am kind of limited to what options are available. The gas gage reads empty so it won't take too much gas to drain.

I will purchase a ten gallon fuel tank to drain the old gas and dump it. Would it be wise to fill the fuel can with fresh gas where the old gas was before?

Old 03-20-2007, 08:54 AM
rsylvstr
Cargo Master
Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts
you are going to have to drop the tank (you probably already realized that) which means you better buy new hardware because half that crap is going to break off....

personally, I'd change the fuel filter, then I'd siphon what i can, then put TWO 12 oz bottles of Techron in the tank, fill it up and drive it....put a few tanks through it and then change the filter again.

Old 03-20-2007, 09:55 AM
fmc400
MSEE
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
I believe radiator shops can flush gas tanks as well. I would also replace the rubber hose that connects the metal feed line from the tank to the pump, right up near the engine on the driver's side.

Old 03-20-2007, 11:35 AM
Jermafenser
Postmaster
Siphoning seems to be the workable option here. I'd forgotten about the Chevron Techron. I'll have to buy that, thanks for reminding me.

I plan to replace all vacuum hoses anyway, including the fuel lines.

I was thinking of taking the rubber line that goes to the carburetor from the fuel pump and put the hose in the tank while cranking it so the gas will pour onto the can. Is this a good idea or could it damage something?