1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

restoration

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2006, 12:21 PM
chriswy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
restoration

I am looking at tring something new with my time. I have a 1960 F100 short bed pickup that is all original. the engine needs a rebuild it has a smoking problem which i assume is from worn rings. My question is do you knowledgable fella's think it would be wise to put a new engine in it or should i rebuild it to keep it all original. The truck is in good condition. I personally would like to keep it original but i have never worked on an engine before and have not been able to sell the truck so i bought a service manual for the truck and rebuilding the motor looks like a project that i could tackle and do. Any help or idea's would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris

Old 12-28-2006, 12:54 PM
seetwisted
Senior User
Is the motor original? In a real restoration, it is better and worth more if all the date,casting numbers match. In a driver, numbers are not so important and cost, reliability and up-grading for driveability on todays roads is more important. And what engine do you have? Tear into it and find out how worn out it is...and what you actually have.

Old 12-28-2006, 01:05 PM
chriswy
New User
The motor is a inline 6 223 and i believe it is the original motor. How do i determine if it is the original motor that was in the truck.

Old 12-28-2006, 04:24 PM
chriswy
New User
anyone have any suggestions

Old 12-28-2006, 07:14 PM
Randy Jack
Postmaster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Definately rebuild it. It's a great economy motor than runs for a long time. The rebuild will be easy and straightforward, especially if it is your first build. It's perfect to cut your teeth on.

Have fun.

Old 12-28-2006, 08:48 PM
fiddysixF
Senior User