Anyone use a hydrometer for fuel testing? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Go Back  Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > 1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel
Reload this Page >

Anyone use a hydrometer for fuel testing?

Notices
1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Old 12-08-2006, 11:30 AM
rad1026
Elder User
rad1026 is starting off with a positive reputation.

I've been using a hydrometer for fuel testing for a few years now. I'm not always as consistant as I should be but I have not heard anyone here mention using one. Over the last few years I have been blow away at how many times I have pulled up to a station and seen totally unacceptable specific gravity readings. Here is a link to an article from the Engine Manufacture's Association regarding acceptable levels of Diesel fuel. http://tdiclub.com/articles/Diesel_Fuel_Guidlines/

It tells how the SG reading effects fuel efficiency and engine power. Its really a pretty easy thing to do and the effect on gas milage and power is amazing when you get good fuel. I know I've seen 2-4 MPG swings when using barely acceptable fuel as opposed to good fuel.

Just curious if anyone else does this. F250-Newbie did some research on another thread and found some good info
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/5...ml#post4196658

Last edited by rad1026; 12-08-2006 at 11:42 AM.
Old 12-08-2006, 12:37 PM
F250_
Post Fiend
F250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputationF250_ has a superb reputation