1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

1966 ford f100 gas tank *I'm a rookie*

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2006, 06:25 PM
dadstruck
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile 1966 ford f100 gas tank *I'm a rookie*

First off thx for all the contributers on this board ..great group and I have learned an amazing amount about these trucks while doing my restoration research.

I'm a green,newbie,first time,rookie so be patient. I have a 1966 ford f 100 custom cab. My dad purchased the truck in 1967. Has not been started in 15 years. I'm begining a restoratin and thought I would get the thing running to see were I was at mechanically. Well today I was able to get the engine running smooth, but had to use a boat tank for my fuel tank.

Here is my problem: fuel line from fuel pump to bottom of cab fuel hose is unobstructed. The fuel line from the tank to the bottom of the cab (to the fuel hose linkage) is plugged with a black tar goo. The siphon tube from the tank was plugged full of this goo. I ran a wire to the bottom of the tank through the siphon tube and kept getting black goo. I was unable to run a wire into the fuel line.

First question: What is this stuff ...is this the original tank sealent breaking down. Why it is just in the first section of fuel line from the tank is a mystery and in the fuel tank siphon tube (i suspect in the bottom of the tank as well).

Is it possible to flush this stuff out of the tank and lines and what do I use how do I do this. Again it has the consistency of tar. The outside temp today was about 98f so I don't know if this stuff changes consistency with colder temps. For what its worth the tank does not leak.

Thx for your time and trust me there will be alot more questions coming down the road.

Old 08-13-2006, 09:56 PM
airharley
Postmaster