Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Does anybody use a gas welder anymore?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 12:03 PM
Fordzlla
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does anybody use a gas welder anymore?

I realize that oxy-acetylene torches aren't nearly as sexy as a TIG or Plasma machine, but why is it that people seem to think its a process that produces inferior welds? I'm not talking about brazing, but normal fusion wellding on mild steel.

Old 07-24-2006, 03:38 PM
Defective
Junior User
I do...sorta...

I'm actually seriously out of practice & trying to re-learn at the moment. Been away from it for about 12 years and suddenly have 4 or 5 projects that need welding & no 220 to the current shop yet. My solution: bought a brand new torch set & borrowed a set of tanks from work.

I forgot how much I missed my torches until I started practicing with the new set.

My step-daughters car is getting new floorboards. My wifes beagle is getting a place to play. My old post vice is getting a new post. My bench grinder is getting new mounts. My scrap pile is shrinking.

Old 07-24-2006, 05:55 PM
littleme13
Posting Guru
i often wondered this my self fordzlla, then today i found the answer. i started school today for welding and one of the intructors told us why we wouldnt be learning that much about it. its not as cost effective, its easier to teach someone to mig then oxy, les fire hazards. and its pretty much out dated.

Old 07-24-2006, 06:14 PM
59flatbedford
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
i welded all the home made patch panel into my pickup with an old torch. the only reason i did was cause the ranch i live on don't have a mig so it was the torch or the messed up arc welded which wouldn't weld that thin anyway so it was the torch.

Old 07-24-2006, 07:31 PM
FirstTry
Posting Guru
Originally Posted by littleme13