Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Work recommendations - sound right?

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2006, 12:16 AM
OsbornFamily
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Work recommendations - sound right?

Hey all. I hope I'm posting this in the right place. If not - shuffle me around.
First off, I'm the girl who drives the truck in this house. I also work on it when I can, but I'm no mechanic (yet). I've gotten as far as changing the fuel filter and replacing a gasket (?) on the fuel line.
We've taken the truck to our local performance shop (PowerShop here in WA) and I have a list of things to be done. While I trust Chuck and his knowledge, I have a Nordstrom shop and a Target budget. So first off - are there any other good shops around who can do great work at a good price? AND would they be open to me watching and learning from what they're doing?
So, without repeating all 8 pages of notes from the initial inspection, here's what they recommend for "Phase I":
1) Replace Injection Pressure Sensor (the part is the spendy part of this line item)
2) Replace Torque Converter (recommend BD Performance)
3) Delete trans cooler bypass (this is cheap)
4) Upgrade Ford Radiator
Grand total for this work: $2902 + tax.
Now, to top it off. The A/C is working intermittently. We added coolant, but that didn't solve our issue. So I'm probably looking at work to be done there.
Then there's the ongoing chime which we're trying to track down. I'll post that another day.
Then there's "Phase II" which is $5200+, which includes exhaust, turbo, air brake, gauges, and some other little items. All for another day.
YIKES! My head is about to explode.
So, if it was your truck, what would you do? Last I checked, I didn't win the lottery, so I don't have an open-ended check..... And then again - I know the difference between "price" and "cost" (you do get what you pay for).
Thanks again-

Old 07-23-2006, 12:24 AM
PowerstrokeJunkie
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts