1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

2003 Expedition Electrical and Idle Problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 06:10 PM
ken1969
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2003 Expedition Electrical and Idle Problems

Please help me. I just bought a 2003 Expedition XLT 4.6L last week. It only has 41,000 miles and appears to be in good shape. I had the local Ford dealership pull a warranty claims report on it and there have never been any warranty claims for the SUV. I also have a perfect CarFax for it.

However, the day after I bought it, the power mirrow switch stopped working. I purchased a new switch for $20 and replaced it myself. I am NOT a mechanic, but I can handle the small things. The next day the power driver side window would not go down. I tried about 20 times and it started working and has worked ever since. Around the same time, the alarm stopped setting. It gives two honks, even though every door is closed tight and double checked. Also, the alarm goes off sometimes when I try starting the vehicle even when it has been disabled or not even set the night before. Occassionally, if I try to set the alarm it just goes off.

The local Circuit City says they will give me free installation on an aftermarket alarm and disable the factory one if I just purchase the new alarm from them. I'm tempted since Ford won't tell you how much anything will cost until they charge you a hundred bucks to "diagnose" the problem.

Oh, I almost forgot, the windshield fluid indicator is also coming on sometimes, even though the resevoir is full.

Now, today, just to top it all off while driving home from the movies, the check engine light came on and the Expy will barely idle at stop lights or when in neutral. When I give it just a little gas, the revs shoot up to 3000 and stick there for about 20 seconds. Then it drops back down and idles very rough.