The Next Generation For those ages 15-25.

Who spends their study halls in the metal shop?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2006, 11:51 PM
Nathane
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Who spends their study halls in the metal shop?

Im 16, sophmore at North High School... I've got an 82-f150,302, headers, dual exhaust, and 4WD

I'm a 2nd year metals/welding student, and our schools got a pretty good metal shop setup. We've got 6 lathes, 1 cincinatti, 1 bridgeport, 3 drill presses, 7 stick welders, 2 migs (1 digital), 8 oxyacetiline setups, 3 grinders, a 40 ton sheer, 2 bandsaws (vertical/horiziontal), a circle maker, and misilanious other things... Good setup, lots of evertything you could need...

I love it, seriously... Ive got a study hall 4th hour, right before lunch, and the actual class right after lunch. My s/h teacher trusts me enough to let me go after I check in. I usually go to the shop, work for 30 out of 50 min, and take a long lunch (or a nap at home)

Good stuff, I'll be spending more time in there, I just gotta goahead and gut my interior to fix the bad rocker, cab corner, and door piller (ugg)

Thats all folks, just wandering who else has a good shop setup at their school

~Nate

Old 03-04-2006, 01:19 AM
jake00
FTE is my crack
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I used to go to auto shop on my study halls.

Old 03-04-2006, 02:12 AM
bassproguy07
Elder User
Our school has welding, i took it last year and im taking a 2 hour class next year and will get certified at the end of the year. I also get my pe credits for it so its cool. We have like 20 sticks, 8 millermatic 251 mig welders, a miller tig, a plasma cutter, an oxy acetylene cutter a drill press, and i think thats it. We only build trailers barbecue pits excetera, no need for band saws we do have a buncha chopsaws and stuff but no big fabrication stuff except for welding

Old 03-04-2006, 01:26 PM
captain p4
Post Fiend