1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

New to the forums...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 03:57 PM
mtskibum16
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up New to the forums...

Hey, my name is Matt and I'm a mechanical engineering student at Montana State University. I have a 55 Ford F100 that started as a project about 6 years ago. I worked on it alot one summer and then I got a 2000 Toyota Celica GTS that took the rest of my time and money through high school. It ended up with a custom turbo kit and about everything else I could do to it. Well, being a little older and ready for a good challenge to put my engineering/machining skills to the test, I am going to start on my truck project again. Back in high school I got a pretty good idea of what I wanted to do to my truck and purchased a good amount of what I needed to complete the project. Here is the general plan that I'm sure will be revised as needed.

I am going all out hot rod. I have a LS1 350 and 6 speed tranny from a 2000 Comaro that will be the heart of this build. I was origionally going to incorporate the front clip from a 1979 TransAm but those plans have changed. Now I am debating using the Camaros suspension or going with something different. The interior will be very modern with bucket seats, a custom center console/devider and the whole bit. For the body, I am going to keep it pretty much origional other than a couple things. I am going to get rid of the spare tire indention in the driver's side fend, widen all four fenders by a few inches, build a custom roll pan for the back, and possibly chop the top about 4 inches.

So, enough rambling...what do you guys think? Have any of you done any of this before? Any advise? Like I said before, I haven't done any research on this for like 5 years so all of my knowledge is based on what I can remember. I just got the itch to start working on her again. I'm sure I'll talk to you all later.