1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

1966 F100 instument panel lighting issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2005, 02:27 PM
Redmanbob
Logistics Pro
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Post 1966 F100 instument panel lighting issues

Well after the success with the exhaust manifold I figure it's time to start on the next items. The instrument panel does not light up, I downloaded a diagram for a 64 from a post link here and will begin trying to figure out what is the deal. All the exterior lighting functions (headlamps HI/LO,brakes,signals,hazard-needs a fuse) only the inst. panel and dome do not light. Any tips greatly appreciated..I'm no electrician, "but I can help with prepress/graphics" hint hint..
Also I will get a carb kit this weekend and rebuild it as the thing runs so poorly after a tune up. I will check all the issues before the rebuild (comp,timing,etc..) but I'm sure a rebuild is in order..the acc pump for sure is an issue.

Old 10-29-2005, 12:20 AM
GregTruck
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There is a short length of wire coming from the top of the gauge cluster. The wire is a ground wire that has to be connected to the dash to complete the circuit. Make sure yours is connected. With the dome light either the bulb is blown or the headlight switch is broken more than likely. There is really no way to say WHAT the problem is with things like that. Only good advice. Check the routine stuff first, ie:bulbs, fuses, whatnot. Then look for bad connections.

Always remove the negative battery connection!

Remove all watches, rings!

You can't go wrong....

Old 10-29-2005, 02:29 AM
Sam_Fear
Posting Guru