1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

bouncing, skipping rear end

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2005, 09:32 AM
wphun
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bouncing, skipping rear end

What causes the back end of my ranger to skip, if for instance, I'm travelling on an off rampand hit a bump. The back of the truck will bounce to the side. This is my first truck and don't lnow if this is normal. It is a 94 ranger.

Old 02-03-2005, 12:36 PM
TJ-Ranger
Senior User
I hear ya. Im relatively new to trucks too. My '88 Ranger is my 1st truck.. The reason for the bounce..is the back/bed is light in weight. You need to add some lbs to the bed. I have 3 pieces of 3/8 plywood (just because it was left over from a job) and 5 concrete patio tiles for extra weight. Has helped alot, but not 100%. Some have also used sandbags.

Old 02-03-2005, 02:10 PM
tortoise_486
Freshman User
Yeah, the bouncing and skipping seems to be part of truck ownership. Though, if your shocks have reached the end of their lifespan this wandering will be greatly increased... And truthfully, can be quite unsafe. I nearly put the truck in a ditch while driving a little enthusiastically in Maine... On perfectly dry, though bumpy pavement.

Last edited by tortoise_486; 02-03-2005 at 02:13 PM.
Old 02-03-2005, 03:30 PM
wphun
New User
Smile

thanks...no ditches for me...gonna fix this moonwalking

Old 02-03-2005, 03:43 PM
fordtrucklover94
Elder User
Mine does the wiggle as well, I have driven it for 2.5 years and have already put a set of tires on it bc of this, and about to have to do it again, that and i've worn one of the fronts due to alignment issues. I think it is just inherent of trucks, esp. without any weight in the rear end. But I wouldn't trade the thing for the world. I used to carry a steel beam in the bed when I first got it, but the bed seemed to be worthless so I pulled it out

Old 02-03-2005, 04:03 PM
Bart99GT
Laughing Gas