Power steering pump howling

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2004, 02:09 PM
woodman209
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Power steering pump howling

Is it me or do all fords power steering pump's whine. My old 77 whined my 86 whined and I replaced with reman and still whines.

currently it buzzes at idle and turning at slow speeds and if I go to far in either direction(it makes a sound like a starter when engine is already running)

Is there a pump out there that doesn't whine and is not going to cost me an arm and a leg?

I have been told never get one from a junkyard it will probably be worse or just as bad

Old 07-03-2004, 03:38 PM
Saurian
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Could always just bypass it. Pick up some needed ponies while not having another thing to cause noise.

Old 07-04-2004, 06:28 AM
Tranzmaan
Junior User
P/S pump

I worked as a GM dealer mechanic for 20 years and on GM cars, were what we called saginaw pumps and they were very quiet. If a saginaw pump would make noise like a ford pump it was bad and it would get replaced. On a Ford its normal, I have an 88 f150 and it whines all the time but mostly at idle and turning the wheel like getting into a parking spot. If the steering wheel turns smoothly with one hand on the wheel, no jerking or tight spots I wouldnt worry about it. I remember heaing that if you put some STP engine oil treatment (Do they still make that stuff ???) it would quiet down the pump but I never tried it and I dont know if its safe for the pump or the steering box.

Old 07-04-2004, 02:49 PM
lwpman
Freshman User
Power steering pump