1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

skipping at particular throttle position

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2003, 08:08 AM
tapenick
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
skipping at particular throttle position

My 71 (F100, 302, Holley 2BBL) has started skipping at a certain throttle position... anything beyond barely cracked to about half throttle.

Not sure if skipping is the right word, it basically seems to die, then restart, die, restart, etc very quickly causing the truck to jerk like crazy.

Seems worse the colder it is.

Any ideas?

Tom

Old 12-05-2003, 10:32 AM
MuchToMyDelight
Posting Guru
You would think that these holley 2bbl's are junk from reading of all the problems you guys are having! I just crank mine up and drive!

Keep in mind that I am no mechanic, but the only thing I can think of would be a busted power valve that floods the motor and then burns it off, then floods again. My second solution, is a clogged jet or metering rod. A peice of trash blocking fuel, and after part throttle, the power valve provides enough fuel to make it run.
Thats all I can think of for now, but dont attack the carb until you rule everything else out such as vacuume leaks and proper timing. To check for a vacuume leak, spray some carb cleaner along your intake to head gasket and at the base of the carb. If the RPMs change, you have found your leak.

Old 12-10-2003, 08:44 PM
tapenick
Senior User
suggestions on carb replacement

Finally got around to popping the breather off tonight, gas everywhere.

Saw kit prices from $10-$30, thinking about just buying a carb and bolting it on.

AZ has a Champion for $149, a TOMCO for $149, and a Holley for $109. Any recommendations?

All are model 2100.

Tom

PS: Not sure if this is going to link to the post I replied to since I changed the subject... just in case it's a 302 automatic.

Old 01-03-2004, 02:35 PM
tapenick
Senior User
Ordered a Motorcraft 2100 but it didn't fix it!