Newbie valuation questions -Third generation (1957–1960) Ford F-100

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2024, 12:32 PM
Milkacha
Cross-Country
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newbie valuation questions -Third generation (1957–1960) Ford F-100

Hello Ford Truck enthusiasts,

I'm a newbie seeking insights into the value of a third-generation (1957–1960) F-100. Specifically, I'm eyeing a locally available 1959 Ford F-100 Custom cab with a long bed. It's equipped with a 292.0 cu in, 4.8 L V8 engine and has newer (10 years old) two-tone paint job in Red and off-White, with no visible rust. While not a showpiece, the paint is in decent condition. It's fully operational, registered. Interior wise: has a newer bench seat, good headliner, along with functioning lights and gauges. The negotiated price stands at $6500, but I'm unsure if this is a fair deal or not.
Upon researching prices across various auction sites and classic car websites, I've noticed a considerable disparity, ranging from $5000 to $60,000 for late-fifties F-100 trucks. I understand that restoration quality can significantly influence pricing, but even among similar restoration standards, the pricing seems inconsistent. This leads me to believe that there might be specific factors unique to these trucks that dictate their value.
Could you kindly shed some light on the factory options or variations that make certain models more sought after? I'm aware of Flareside pickup, LWB Flareside pickup, Styleside pickup, Custom cab, etc., but I'm unsure if one holds more value than the others. Any advice or insights would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-21-2024, 06:37 PM
spurredon
Fleet Owner

Received 771 Likes on 689 Posts
Well, you could have saved a bunch of time with some pics. Then it is a question if it is worth it to you or not. Condition is more important than any particular feature in general.

The following users liked this post:
Old 05-21-2024, 09:41 PM
Milkacha
Cross-Country
Received 1 Like on 1 Post