Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

7.3L IDI , AT545, 75MPH+ Bus - Which gear ratio?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2024, 05:32 PM
ManWithNoBrows
5th Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 7.3L IDI , AT545, 75MPH+ Bus - Which gear ratio?

Hi guys. I have a short bus skoolie with a 7.3L IDI and an AT545. I'm trying to get it to go at least 75MPH. The Spicer f155S is now obsolete, so I'll be replacing that axel with a Spicer S150S which is still available.

I'm not a mechanic, and I only know basic, and maybe intermediate stuff about how a bus works, but I'm certainly no expert. That's why I've called around, asked mechanics, and got information on various topics on this project so far. So, now I'm trying to understand the gear ratios, and how best to select one that will work for my application. My skoolie will be OTR, so yes I'll have some hills, and yes it's going to do a lot of highway driving. Both things I need to account for.

I've heard from Inland Automotive that they suggest using gears in the 3.x range, and when I used the JEGS calculator, it makes sense to do that. However, even if they made a gear ratio of 1, which AFAIK they don't, then it'll lose nearly all the torque, and so it'll have a very hard time with hills and also it'll take forever to get it going.

My current axel is geared at 5.57. As a school bus driving around town, that makes sense, but it'll be ungodly slow if I leave it at that, so I need to change it.

Also, I've read that the 7.3L IDI is often coupled with a 4.x gear ratio in pickup trucks. Presumably it's not in the 3.x range because pickup trucks are usually meant for towing. I don't need to tow anything. I just have a heavy-*** bus. (21,500 GVWR)