1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Buying advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2023, 08:02 PM
matt collins
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Buying advice

Good evening. I have found a 1952 F100 a guy is willing to sell. It is in rough condition. Typical been sitting in a field. All flats, no paint, seats look like a rats nest. I am new to classics and this will be my first true classic, so I am new to all of this. He does have the original title for the truck. I can only assume the truck does not run or drive. What price would be a good price to offer for this truck? Thank you.

Old 09-04-2023, 08:14 PM
bmoran4
Cargo Master
Received 574 Likes on 417 Posts
Well, for starters, there is no such thing as a 1952 F-100, so get a rundown on what it really is you are looking at, possibly a 1952 F-1. Get the vin and have us decode it. Does the vin on the title match the vin on the data plate and on the frame? Which engine, trans, and trim options does it have?

As for pricing, condition, condition, condition, location, and your goals... Share some pictures with us!

Are.you looking to build something stock, something dark side, or something other worldly?

Do note that it is generally considered more cost effective to buy a better truck than fix one up.

I can only imagine that $1000 is too much without more to go off of...

Last edited by bmoran4; 09-04-2023 at 08:17 PM. Reason: Correcting autocorrect
The following users liked this post:
Old 09-04-2023, 08:18 PM
matt collins
3rd Gear
My mistake is is a 53 F1. Again new the the classic game. This truck would be a project to span over 6+ years or more.

Old 09-04-2023, 08:19 PM
bmoran4
Cargo Master
So again, there is no 1953 F-1, so 1953 F-100?

Old 09-04-2023, 08:21 PM
matt collins
3rd Gear
Fat fingered it……. 52

Old 09-04-2023, 08:31 PM
moejr
Fleet Mechanic
Received 1,020 Likes on 481 Posts