Foamy ATF Fluid?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2003, 01:32 PM
Nate1
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Foamy ATF Fluid?

Hello, I'm fairly new to this part of the forum. I have a 87' Bronco that the transmission works fine, doesn't slip except slightly in OD shifting from the 45MPH range to the 55MPH range. It just kind of winds up and shifts right when you are thinking "is this thing going to shift or what?"

I checked the ATF the other day, truck hot, and there is fluid on the dipstick but it is kind of bubbly if that's a good description. Not foamy but still a good color but with little bubbles included. It kind of gets in the way of detecting the true level of the fluid because the bubbles extend above the do not add above this line mark. . Also there seems to be more bubbles than fluid, fluid at bottom of dipstick, the more bubbles than fluid the rest of the way up. Any help / suggestions are appreciated, Thanks!

Nate

Old 10-24-2003, 03:18 PM
Metro2
Junior User
Bubbles or foam on the dipstick is a sure sign of the tranny being overserviced.. The fluid level is high enough that it is coming into contact with the rotating internals causing the fluid to become aerated. This is harmful to the unit, as air in not a good lube.. Make sure you double check the fluid, draining some out if you have to. Just make sure it is NOT overserviced...Hope this helps..

Metro2

Old 10-24-2003, 06:19 PM
jim henderson
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The other thing about bubbles is that you may not be following procedure for your model. Each tranny model may have a different procedure and they are usually pretty picky about following it. If you don't follow procedure, you may get bad readings. I ususlly get bubbles after a long drive in warm temperatures. My 94 F250 E4od specifically says in the manual not to measure under these conditions.